Department for General and Applied Physics, Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology

Chair for "Problems in theoretical physics"

based at Landau Institute for theoretical physics


Diagrammatic methods

Yu. Makhlin

The goal of this course is to introduce the students to the modern methods of condensed-matter theory and at the same time to discuss a number of specific physical phenomena. In the class we consuder problems, which illustrate various methods, based on the diagram technique for the Green functions. These methods are applied to modern problems in many-particle physics, including Fermi-liquid theory, disordered systems, superconductivity.


  1. Quasiparticles. Elementary excitations in a quantum Fermi liquid. Second quantization. Canonical transformations.
  2. Green functions of Fermi and Bose systems at zero temperature. Interaction representation. Chronological ordering. Green function of a macroscopic system. Physical meaning of the poles. Analytical properties of the Green function.
  3. Basic principles of diagrammatics. Interacting particles. Wick theorem. Feynman diagrams for various interactions. Diagram technique in coordinate and momentum space. Block diagram summation. Dyson equation. Vertex diagrams. Two-particle Green function. Bethe-Salpiter equation.
  4. Ideal Fermi gas. Green function for an ideal Fermi gas. Electrons at the Fermi surface. Electron-hole symmetry. Kubo formula.
  5. Electron-phonon interaction. Hamiltonian of the electron-phonon interaction. Fröhlich Hamiltonian. Phonon Green function. Migdal theory. Quasiparticle lifetime. Renormalization of the electron spectrum. Absence of the vertex renormalization. Renormalization of the sound velocity. Peierls instability.
  6. Diagram technique at finite temperatures. Matsubara time. Matsubara Green function. Discrete frequencies. Feynman rules for Matsubara diagrammatics. Method of analytical continuaion.
  7. Fermi-liquid theory. Quasiparticles. Landau functional. Kinetic equation. Collective excitations. Properties of the vertex diagrams at low momentum transfer.
  8. Electrons in a random potential. Averaging over disorder. Diagram technique for disorder averaging. Diagrams without self-intersection. Averaging of response fuinctions. Conductivity of the electron gas. Diffusion equation. Quantum correction to the conductivity.
  9. Microscopic theory of superconductivity. Diagram technique for the BCS theory. Scattering in the Cooper channel, Cooper ladder. Green function for a superconductor. Basic equations for a superconductor. Superconductor in an electromagnetic field.

Recommended texts

  1. A. A. Abrikosov, L. P. Gor'kov, I. E. Dzyaloshinskii, Methods of Quantum Field Theory in Statistical Physics, Prentice-Hall, 1963
  2. E. M. Lifshitz, L. P. Pitaevskii, Statistical Physics, Part 2, Pergamon, 1980
  3. L. S. Levitov and A. V. Shytov, Green's functions. Theory and practice (in Russian), Fizmatlit, Moscow, 2003.
  4. G.D.Mahan, Many-particle Physics, N.Y., Plenum Press, 1990.

Кафедра ФОПФ МФТИ

Проблемы теоретической физики

при ИТФ им. Л.Д.Ландау

РУС/ENG

Диаграммные методы

Ю.Г. Махлин

Цель курса - ознакомить студентов с современными методами теории конденсированного состояния и одновременно обсудить ряд конкретных физических явлений. В ходе занятий обсуждаются задачи, иллюстрирующие различные методы, основанные на диаграммной технике для функций Грина. Эти методы применяются в задачах по актуальным разделам физики многочастичных систем, таким как теория Ферми-жидкости, неупорядоченные системы, сверхпроводимость.

Программа

  1. Квазичастицы. Элементарные возбуждения в квантовой Ферми-жидкости. Вторичное квантование. Канонические преобразования.
  2. Функция Грина Ферми- и Бозе-систем при нулевой температуре. Представление взаимодействия. Хронологическое упорядочение. Функция Грина макроскопической системы. Физический смысл полюсов. Аналитические свойства функции Грина.
  3. Основные принципы диаграммной техники. Взаимодейсвтующие частицы. Теорема Вика. Диаграммы Фейнмана для различных видов возмущения. Диаграммная техника в координатном и импульсном пространстве. Блочное суммирование диаграмм. Уравнение Дайсона. Вершинная часть. Двухчастичная функция Грина. Уравнение Бете-Солпитера.
  4. Идеальный Ферми-газ. Функция Грина идеального Ферми-газа. Электроны на Ферми-поверхности. Электрон-дырочная симметрия. Формула Кубо.
  5. Электрон-фононное взаимодействие. Гамильтониан электрон-фононного взаимодействия. Гамильтониан Фрелиха. Фононная функция Грина. Теория Мигдала. Время жизни квазичастиц. Перенормировка электронного спектра. Отсутствие перенормировки вершины. Перенормировка скорости звука. Пайерлсовская неустойчивость.
  6. Диаграммная техника при конечной температуре. Мацубаровское время. Мацубаровская функция Грина. Дискретные частоты. Правила Фейнмана для мацубаровской диаграммной техники. Метод аналитического продолжения.
  7. Теория Ферми-жидкости. Квазичастицы. Функционал Ландау. Кинетическое уравнение. Коллективные возбуждения. Свойства вершинной части при малой передаче импульса.
  8. Электроны в случайном потенциале. Усреднение по беспорядку. Диаграммная техника для усреднения по беспорядку. Диаграммы без самоперечечений. Усреднение функций отклика. Проводимость электронного газа. Уравнение диффузии. Квантовая поправка к проводимости.
  9. Микроскопическая теория сверхпроводимости. Диаграммная техника для теории БКШ. Рассеяние в куперовском канале, куперовская лестница. Функции Грина сверхпроводника. Основные уравнения для сверхпроводника. Сверхпроводник в электромагнитном поле.

Литература

  1. А.А. Абрикосов, Л.П. Горьков, И.Е. Дзялошинский, Методы квантовой теории поля в статистической физике, М.: Добросвет, 1998
  2. Е.М. Лифшиц, Л.П. Питаевский, Статистическая физика, ч. 2., М.: Физматлит, 2001
  3. Л.С. Левитов, А.В. Шитов, Функции Грина: задачи и решения. М.:Физматлит, 2003.
  4. G.D.Mahan, Many-particle Physics, N.Y., Plenum Press, 1990.